Setting up Custom Medications
There are two permissions associated with custom medications. The first, "Manage Custom Medications," gives the ability to manage the settings area for custom medications and medication groups (see Figure 1-1). The second permission, "Edit Medications," adds the ability to access custom medications and medication groups from the client's page (see Figure 1-2).
Figure 1-1. Manage Custom Medications Permission
Figure 1-2. Edit Medications Permission
Accessing Custom Medications:
Custom medications can be found by selecting "Settings" and "Custom Medications" (see Figure 1-3).
Figure 1-3. Navigating to Custom Medications
Custom medications are a collection of "favorite" medications, available company-wide. Add one of the existing standard medications or a new medication to the "favorites" collection and define items such as dose, frequency, and duration for that medication (see Figures 1-4 and 1-5).
Figure 1-4. Navigating Add a Custom Medication
Figure 1-5. Adding a New Custom Medication Entry
When selecting the start date option of "Today," "Tomorrow," or "Yesterday," this will determine the start date of the medications added in relation to the date they are applied to the client's medications. Determining the "Duration" (number of days) that the medication will be distributed translates to how many days that medication needs to be distributed to the client (see Figure 1-6). The information saved will be applied every time you select this medication.
Figure 1-6. Start and Duration Options When Adding Custom Medications
Medication groups are a group of one or more predefined medications that are applied to a client simultaneously. To create a medication group, select "Add Medication Group" (see Figure 1-7), then enter the necessary information (see Figure 1-8).
Figure 1-7. Creating a New Medication Group
Figure 1-8. Entering Information for a New Medication Group
A unique token is required that must be 3-6 characters in length. This is intended to be a shorthand indicator of the group name/type, and will not allow multiple groups to have the same token. When adding a medication to a medication group, add a medication from the custom medications collection by selecting from the drop-down, or add a new medication by selecting the "Add New Medication" option (see Figure 1-9). If a new medication is added from the medication group page, it will also be added to the custom medications collection.
Figure 1-9. Adding a Medication to a Medication Group
Once a medication has been added to the group, a preview of information is available by selecting the double arrow. If edits need to be made to a medication, this can be achieved by selecting the "Edit Custom Medication" icon, or a medication can be removed completely from the group with the "Unassign Custom Medication" icon (see Figure 1-10).
Figure 1-10. Expanding, Editing and Unassigning Medications
To update an existing medication group select the Edit icon next to the name of the medication group (see Figure 1-11). Editing the medication group is the same as creating a group with one exception. When the changes are completed there is a "Save" button to save the changes to the existing medication group. There is also a "Save as New" button to save the changes as a new medication group (see Figure 1-12).
Figure 1-11. Edit Icon for Medication Groups
Figure 1-12. "Save" and "Save as New" options
If there is a need to remove an entire group, the group can be inactivated by unchecking the "Active" check box and saving the group (see Figure 1-13).
Figure 1-13. "Active" Check Box
If there is a need to reactivate a group, select the button in the top right "Show Inactive" (see Figure 1-14). This allows you to see all groups that are inactive. Once the inactive groups are visible, the group can be reactivated by selecting the "Edit Custom Medication" icon, checking the "Active" checkbox and selecting "Save" (see Figure 1-15 and 1-16).
Figure 1-14. "Show Inactive" Button
Figure 1-15. Inactive Group's "Edit Custom Medication" Button
Figure 1-16. Activate by Clicking the "Active" Check Box and Selecting "Save"
Back to top of page